Product Review: Crystal Wash

If you have been reading my blog for a while, you are aware that in our home we are constantly striving  to simplify and declutter our home and lifestyle. Since we had our son, Gideon, laundry has become a big part of yours truly’s life. We cloth diapered until about a year ago, and I was on the hunt for the perfect DIY laundry detergent recipe for clothes and diapers. I tried making big batches of liquid homemade detergent, but the process was too cumbersome and time-consuming. I switched to a powder recipe, but still did not like the chemical harshness of the Borax, and how de-natured the product was. I felt like I had to wear a mask when I was making the stuff, so as to not inhale it. I will tell you I liked the money-saving aspect of DIY laundry detergent. Really liked all the money being saved.

So I kept hunting  for something better, and finally came across a product called Crystal Wash. The clouds parted, and sunshine came through the day  I received these lovelies in the mail.

IMG_0631

 

I was hooked on this product from the moment I used it. The first thing to be tested were my musty towels. No amount of Pinterest solutions could rid my towels of this odor that was driving me out of my mind. I kid you not, one time in the wash with Crystal Wash and my towels smelled perfectly like … nothing! They were just fluffy, clean towels that smelled of nothing. There was much rejoicing in the laundry room.

I have since given my parents my first set as a gift because I love them and want them to enjoy the simplicity of the new laundry process and expense. I got my second set in the mail a while back, and am still really enjoying how clean, stain-free, and fresh my laundry is. I don’t see myself turning back until some genius comes up with a fabric that never stains or requires washing.

IMG_0633

They have their own little basket by the window, because they need their Vitamin D. They are solar powered.

What is this??

Each of these balls contain little marbles composed of minerals that are known for their anti-bacterial properties. When the water in your washing machine starts to move, the agitation activates the little marbles and begins to change the chemical properties in the water to neutralize the pH. [See an official description here ].

How does it work?

You put the dirty laundry in the washing machine (stain treated if applicable), grab the crystal wash balls, throw them in the with the clothes, add your usual fabric softener (I use vinegar), and voila!

The minerals are solar powered, so you should lay them out in the sun once a month to recharge.

Why is this better than store-bought or DIY laundry detergent?

  • It’s cheaper.
  • It retails for about $50, but if you stay on the website long enough, an ad will come up with a discounted promotion for around $37.
  • The product claims to last for 1,000 loads. That means that if you average a load of laundry per day, one set could last you around 3 years. That’s $50 over a 3 year period.
  • It requires no work. If you DIY, there are 3-5 less products on your grocery list, you don’t have to combine ingredients, boil large batches, transfer to small containers, etc.
  • In terms of clutter, it’s one less big container of something using shelf space in your home. That’s a big deal to me.
  • There are no chemicals put into the fabric, other than whatever you use to treat stains or soften fabrics. That is huge considering my son has ultra-sensitive skin.
  • It’s better for the environment.

One thing to consider

There is one color of clothes that Crystal Wash was not found to be as effective with, and that is whites. It does not whiten them like store bought laundry detergent with boost or bleach would. So that is something to keep in mind.

How does Crystal Wash do with stains?

I have a two and a half year old. Doing his laundry takes twice as long because every other item of clothing requires some stain treating before I wash it. Here are some pictures of a piece of clothing that was absolutely saturated in food and grease stains.

Now, some people are particular about how they wash their whites or reds. If you have a detergent that works for you, go for it! But consider that even if you use Crystal Wash with towels, linens, and other things that go in the wash, you’ll still be saving money!

Please let me know if you have any other questions, and remember that you can always go straight to the Crystal Wash website.

DISCLAIMER: I’m not sponsored or anything at all. I just want to share something that has made my life easier, and is easier on the wallet.

Be blessed as you do laundry and take care of yourself and your family!

yes?

