Murphy’s Law, but not quite.

So this happened this morning.

Bye bye Mazda.

Gideon and I were headed to our Thursday morning Mommy Bible Study. We were not running late, I was enjoying the beautiful downhill road to the river.

IMG_6013

It’s uncanny how this picture resembles the curb where I spun out this morning.

All of a sudden, I started to skid a little. I took my foot off the pedals, and held the steering wheel still to try to regain control. That did not work, and a little bit of skidding turned into heading downhill completely sideways. I ever so gently tapped my breaks to try to slow down, and that’s when physics took the wheel completely. Physics was always my worst subject, worse than chemistry. To this day I don’t know how I passed my physics classes and after today, I’m further from understanding it then ever before.

We were headed towards the ledge, and I screamed. I screamed because I’ve had dreams of losing control of the wheel. I screamed because the possibility of my car flying after falling off a ledge is non-existent outside of the land of dreams. I screamed because I had precious cargo in the back seat, and no way to remove him from the situation before the inevitable.

We hit the guard rail head on and I could see the creek below. There was a stone draining wall 10 feet down, and I did not want to land on it. Somehow that guard rail held the weight of my car, and more physics action took place to make my car spin one last time. My car finally came to a full stop. It was leaning up against the guard rail, facing opposing traffic directly on a downhill blind curve. Thank goodness there had not been any cars around for me to run into while spinning around uncontrollably.

I took in the fact that the action was over, and looked in the rear view mirror. Gideon was sitting in his car seat just looking around like “what just happened??”. I asked him if he was ok, and he said “uh huh”. I wanted to climb into the back seat and check on him, but I didn’t know how stable the car was, or how close we were to the edge. I was scared to move. I couldn’t get my door open, and just sat confused for a few seconds. I didn’t realize how distraught I was until I reached for the diaper bag. I could barely hold anything because I was shaking so badly. The diaper bag contents had fallen all over the place, and of course my phone was the one thing I could not readily find.

I called Daniel who was home and two minutes away from me. He said he would call the police. I very slowly climbed out of the car through the front passenger door. A sweet lady named Julie pulled over and kept me company while I waited for Daniel to arrive. Bless little Gideon, he was completely unaffected by the whole thing and was pointing out all the trees, and chatting it up with his new friend.

What seemed like hours later, I was sitting in Daniel’s truck with Gideon. He could hear me crying and knew how upset I was. All of a sudden he says so sweetly from the back seat.

“I’m fine, mama.”

Those three little words.

He was telling me “No big deal mom, It’s all good.”

He’s barely two years old, and he’s already comforting and reassuring his mother. Who is this child?? How did I ever get to be the mother of such a tender hearted little boy??

The sweet lady officer was really thoughtful, and told me before leaving “someone was watching out for you.” And of course a whole other level of weeping ensued.

I’ve been weepy all day, and I only started feeling better after Gideon and I took two and a half hour naps. When we woke up we spent some time enjoying the beautiful weather on the front porch, and the rest of the evening was enjoyable.

It sounds like the car is totaled. We just put new brakes on it a few weeks ago. Murphy’s law? To a degree. But Gideon is safe, and I’m safe. Murphy’s got nothing on God.

7 thoughts on “Murphy’s Law, but not quite.

  1. first of all, I just want to say I’m so glad you’re both safe!! Wrecks no matter how small are always super super scary!!! God definitely had His hand on that car!!

    I also want to say for some reason when I read what you wrote about Gideon’s expression of “what just happened?!” I laughed out loud! Being as small as he was and so used to the car always moving forward then all of a sudden it’s going in all sorts of directions…I’m sure he had a priceless expression.

    • You are so right! God’s hand was definitely involved that day. Looking back on the accident, it is kind of cute to remember Gideon’s baffled little face. It was also adorable how excited he was to see all the police cars and lights.

  2. Dios te bendiga Denice, gracias a Dios que nos paso más; espero que estes más tranquila; Dios es bueno y siempre nos cuida, gran chico Gideon ya desde pequeño cuidando de su mami, una gran bendición en tu vida.
    Saludos de nuestra parte y nuestras oraciones contigo.

yes?

