A sweet weekend

A little over a week ago I had the opportunity to visit the Smokey Mountains for the first time. I went with 6 relatives including my mother-in-law. In true ladies’ weekend fashion, we stayed at a gorgeous cabin,

The most beautiful log cabin I have ever stayed in.

The most beautiful log cabin I have ever stayed in.

ate a lot of delicious food,

A Publix cake with fall decorations that says "family" on it. Does anything top it?

A Publix cake with fall decorations that says “family” on it. Does anything top it?

played 5 Crowns several times, enjoyed the sweet things,

Two ladies put together gift bags for everyone containing a mug, a prayer journal, Mary Kay hand cream set, a CD with relaxing music, and a beautiful note. What sweetness!

Two ladies put together gift bags for everyone containing a mug, a prayer journal, Mary Kay hand cream set, a CD with relaxing music, and a beautiful note. What sweetness!

and spent a lot of time sitting around the table or fireplace sharing good conversation and laughs.

Fireplace

And a ladies’ weekend can’t be a ladies’ weekend without a fair share of relaxation.

We were ecstatic to find grandma chilling on the couch when we got back from an afternoon hike.

We were ecstatic to find grandma chilling on the couch when we got back from an afternoon hike. You kick those feet up Grandma!

The top moments of the weekend for me were:

1. Taking a lo(oo)ng bath in the jet tub.

2. Taking my book to the loft upstairs, and reading peacefully by the window.

3. A hike up the mountain we were on with my mother-in-law and her sister.

This was my first weekend away from Gideon. Leaving him behind was the hardest thing I’ve had to do since he was born. It took a lot of self-convincing and self-training to be okay with leaving him. Gideon was in the safest hands, and I knew he was well taken care of. But I still struggled with the idea of us being apart from each other. I had my few minutes of crying when we arrived at the cabin, and then I decided to focus on being grateful for being in such a loving family. My sister-in-law told me that I wouldn’t see the benefit of spending some time apart until I actually tore myself away from Gideon. She was right.

I was able to have some time to focus on reading books that inspire me, and do a lot of personal and motivational writing. Gideon had a blast with his cousins, and spent those few days developing his character and personality. By Sunday evening I was rested, restored, and ready to get back to my boys with a little more energy and oomph than before. Gideon’s facial expression and body language reaffirmed how good it is to be apart occasionally. We didn’t want to let go of each other!

Did you have trouble enjoying yourself the first time you were away from your little one? What did you do to get past the mommy guilt?

 

yes?

