Gideon is 15 Months Old!

Although the first week of June had a few rough days in it, the bulk of the week was a whole lot of fun. If it weren’t for my friends and family who support and have compassion on this new mom, I would have a much harder time realizing that the glass is usually mostly full! A special thanks to my sweetheart, Daniel. He knows exactly what to do to save me from myself ❤

It doesn’t hurts that I have this cutie around me all the time to put my dilemmas into perspective.

look at that 15 month cuteness. Already getting himself into predicaments.

look at that 15 month cuteness. Already getting himself into predicaments.

Gideon is 15 months old today! He looked like such a little man in his church getup this morning. I had to catch a picture of my boys as we walked to our car after having lunch with a group of friends.

My boys in plaid.

My boys in plaid.

He is a pro walker by now. He gave up the “frankenstein walk” as Daniel called it, about a week or two ago. His leg muscles are much stronger now, and he can stand from a sitting position as well as bend over to pick things up without falling. Gideon’s motor planning is also developing very quickly. He has the skill of climbing stairs down pat, and now we are working hard on learning how to go down the stairs safely. At the rate he’s going, he’ll have that mastered in no time. When Gideon isn’t pitter pattering around the house, you can find him twirling. We have a twirler on our hands, and it’s quite precious. He’s adopted “the twirl” as one of his main dance moves now.

As if it weren’t enough that we now have a full fledged toddler on our hands, Gideon also keeps Daniel and I in check when it comes to sign language. We find ourselves having to keep up with the signs he’s learning, and go through his repertoire in our heads before we understand him at times. A lot of times children repeat themselves because they are not understood, but in Gideon’s case repetition is caused by slow learning parentals who are saying “horse? No, that’s [insert sign here]. What does [insert Gideon’s sign here] mean again?”. Poor kid.

15 month mastered sign repertoire: the staples (more, eat, all done), thank you, please, help, drink, diaper, ball, rabbit, horse, papi (dad), mama, bird, flower, love you, bath, book, car, banana, milk, train, dog, cat, sleep, stop, I’m sorry.

15 month emerging sign repertoire: grandpa, grandma,

He

– tells us when his diaper is dirty, but runs away when we address the issue.

– hates diaper changes.

– gets his shoes and brings them to us when he wants to go outside.

– asks for help and then leads us to whatever he wants. (which lately has been Daniel’s mandolin)

– is extremely social. He can’t enter a store without getting every single person’s attention by yelling “ah!”, and then smiling and waving at them. It’s the norm to go out and hear comments like “he’s such a happy little guy!”, “He is so friendly!”, “Oh. my. gosh. What a sweetie.”, “Is he always this happy?”

– is playing with toys more appropriately every day.

– prefers every day household items to toys a lot of the times. (currently: spoons)

– is flexible when life calls to be that way, but loves structure and order.

– has taken really well to Montessori toy setup. I initiated this method at the beginning of the month and so far so good. I’ll write more in detail about that later.

– is only getting his pacifier at nap time and at night.

– says “tete” for “chupete” which is pacifier in spanish. He isn’t producing a lot of words right now, but we are perfectly and totally ok with that. Bilingual language learners are generally later talkers, and his expressive vocabulary through signing does the trick for him for now. When he feels the need to start talking, he will. For now, we model.

–  eats everything under the sun.

– loves bath time, our cat Abby, being outside takes the gold. If it were up to him, our living quarters would consist of a hammock.

Pictures from the first week of June

Gideon at the Playground 2 Gideon at the Playground 3 IMG_0041 IMG_0049

Gideon gets ready to go run errands

Gideon gets ready to go out for a picnic

we took an evening hike, and it was just what the doctor ordered for this drained mama.

we took an evening hike, and it was just what the doctor ordered for this drained mama.

Shawnee Lookout Hike 2

In summary: the best things in life. My husband and my son in the thick of God's creation. The best faith booster for me.

In summary: the best things in life. My husband and my son in the thick of God’s creation. The best faith booster for me.

I find myself getting giddy when Gideon wakes up. He makes me so happy!

I find myself getting giddy when Gideon wakes up. He makes me so happy!

Our first Needtobreathe Concert

On Saturday night we left Gideon with the grandparents, and went on a date to end all dates. I wished I were 10 feet tall, because I couldn’t jump or stretch my arms up as high as I wanted. The energy these guys exude is just out of this world.

20140608-204816-74896963.jpg

Drive All Night. I have no words. I jumped my heart out.

20140608-204814-74894293.jpg

I got my “screamy picture” that I was determined to get.

20140608-204815-74895724.jpg

After the 2nd encore, they came out with an old fashioned mic and guitar to end the concert on a perfect note with rendition of "More Heart, Less Attack"

After the 2nd encore, they came out with an old fashioned mic and guitar to end the concert on a perfect note with rendition of “More Heart, Less Attack”

 

As usual, we are extremely proud of our little boy. Happy 15 months son!

 

yes?

