Recap for March and April | Part 2 | The Great Outdoors

I’ve already said more than once that this past winter was rough and very isolating. Well, we are making up for the cabin fever this spring season! I’ve actually had to get a grip on myself and my need for fresh air and human interaction. I’ve overbooked myself once or twice!
But thus far, this has been the best spring of my life. Gideon has no small part in that. I’m a broken record, I know, but Gideon gets more and more fun every day! He is just exploding in his development. Between established and emerging skills, there is no down time. He is relentless when it comes to practicing and perfecting his new tricks. Gideon has developed such a big personality, and people around him can’t help but be drawn to his sweet and kind nature.

We absolutely love him to death!

As for all of our time spent in the great outdoors, here are some select pictures from the last month or two of our little adventures.

An afternoon at park by the Ohio River down the street from our house. If it's foggy, we can hear the big barges honk at our house!

An afternoon at a park by the Ohio River down the street from our house. If it’s foggy, we can hear the big barges honk inside the house!

Gideon was not too sure about his helmet at first. But now he associates it with being on the bike, and gets excited when he see's it.

Gideon was not too sure about his helmet at first. But now he associates it with being on the bike, and gets excited when he see’s it.

Although we still enjoy our evening walks, we often opt out of walking for enjoying a nice bike ride. We live in a super hilly area, so it's quite the workout for me.

Although we still enjoy our evening walks, we’ve begun opting out of walking to enjoy a nice bike ride. We live in a super hilly area, so it’s quite the workout for me.

Daniel and Gideon stay hydrated. Very important.

Daniel and Gideon stay hydrated. Very important.

20140515-005444.jpg

My first off-roading bike trip for the season. Fun and tricky! I kept avoiding tree roots and bumps, which kept my focus on my steering and not so much on enjoying the ride. Daniel kept reminding me that I wasn’t riding a “cutesy bike” anymore. There were also a set of rough steps on the path. I carried my bike down them, but Daniel assures me they will be the first steps I ride down. EEK!

20140515-005458.jpg

My favorite part of riding as a family, is seeing Gideon watch me next to him. I’m so excited he sees me active and enjoying the outdoors!

How do you and your family enjoy the great outdoors?

yes?

