Recap For March and April | Part 1 | Gideon Turns One

I haven’t documented about life in so long, that I was having trouble figuring out where to start. Figuring out where to start catching up on online journaling only delayed the “catch up” entry. Ah! I want to make sure  to write about so many things, that I’ll have to catch up in stages and phases. So here’s to getting to the point – short and sweet style.

Gideon’s First Birthday

No matter how well I attempted to plan ahead, we kicked off Gideon’s big day with a last minute grocery run as soon as Gideon woke up. We came home and Gideon went down for his morning nap. I rushed around tidying things up and making sure everything was in place. [I don’t know what possessed me but] I decided to leave cooking for last – which I had never done before and will never do again.

I set up all the ingredients for the birthday cake and realized that I was 1 egg short. Daniel was a whirlwind of speed as he rushed to the local grocery store around the corner for a dozen eggs. I was frantic. I started to believe that we would not have a birthday cake for his party. In an attempt to use my time wisely, I got to work on making fruit dip and setting up other snack foods for our guests.

Daniel’s parents arrived an hour early and helped with last minute food prep, and got Gideon dressed while Daniel and I got ready. No joke, I was putting on the last finishing touches of makeup when the doorbell rang.

The day got off to a rough start. It was rushed and stressful. But I was able to relax, breathe, and put all my focus on the toddler of the hour as soon as I saw everyone socializing and munching on the food laid out for them. It helped that Gideon was in a great mood. He took a super long nap before his party, and woke up refreshed and ready to celebrate.

We wanted Gideon to have the traditional experience of good party food, birthday cake and candles. We just didn’t want the traditional foods or cake. So we served lots of fruit along with a fruit dip I made out of coconut milk and bananas that everyone loved, a veggie platter, baby carrots and salsa, popcorn, and cubed cheese. For drinks we served Daniel’s famous iced tea, water, and coffee. We had some individual milk boxes for the kids, and they loved it. Everyone ate to their hearts content. Then it was time for the birthday cake! There was not a slice left. Most importantly, Gideon absolutely loved his first slice of cake ever. He knew exactly what to do with it, and it was gone in less then 2 minutes. Daniel and I were so glad to see that he could enjoy a delicious serving of cake that was healthy and delectable at the same time.

The rest of the afternoon was spent opening gifts and playing. As is the norm in the family, what began as an hour and a half birthday party ended up being a 5 or 6 hour family hang out session. The immediate family stayed for dinner. Daniel and I decided to make Gideon’s birthday our 6th official cheat day of the year (in addition to Christmas, New Years, our birthdays, and wedding anniversary). We ordered some of our favorite pizza. Ever since we’ve cleaned up our diet, pizza just doesn’t settle well with me. So I enjoy the indulgence, and then wait for the consequences. Guzzling lots of water helps.

A great time was had by all, and Gideon was a tired little boy when we went to bed that night.

Here are some pictures of this very special day:

IMG_9395

I love Gideon’s facial expression in this picture. So full of anticipation!

IMG_9509

This is a banner I made for Gideon’s special day. The idea is, I will use it for subsequent birthdays.

IMG_9406 IMG_9413 IMG_9426 IMG_9431 IMG_9465 IMG_9473 IMG_9497 IMG_9555

The best thing in this whole day was seeing how much Gideon enjoyed himself. He loved all the food (I made it a point to make foods that were Gideon’s favorites at the time), and had a blast with his cousins.

First birthday party success!

2 thoughts on “Recap For March and April | Part 1 | Gideon Turns One

  1. Awwww…what great pictures, and it sounds like after all the hustle and bustle and the beginning of your day that it ended up being a super special memory for you after all! Congrats! So hard to believe that he’s already past the one-year marker! :0

yes?

