First Birthday Eve!

Around this time 365 days ago, Daniel and I were at the hospital, Gideon’s arrival was imminent. This evening has been a little emotional for me. All day long I have found myself staring at him – which in itself is actually very common for me – and felt more joy than usual. My heart swells with pride and love and all those good emotions.

Tomorrow is Gideon’s birthday and we are going to do a lot of celebrating. Gideon has a lot to celebrate, and so do Daniel and I as parents!  Protecting and nurturing Gideon into a wonderful 1-year-old is the greatest achievement of our lives. Forget diplomas and jobs and promotions! Nothing has brought more challenges and joy to my life than being Gideon’s mother.

I am a happier person than I have ever been. A lot of people tell me “you just wait. The terrible two’s will change your mind”, and I feel very sad. For them. Because all I seem to want to do is enjoy where Gideon is in the here and now, and look forward to what God has in store for us. That’s not to say that I don’t realize I’m going to fall flat on my face at times as I learn to train and develop my tiny independent thinker. I just don’t see the point in dwelling on the tough aspects of parenthood when I know full well that “He’s got the tiny little babies in His hands”.

I decided to log some little memories of Gideon’s last night as an 11 month old.

  • First and foremost, he took his first steps! He took a few steps from Daniel to the couch, and then did it again!
  • For dinner he had pumpkin chicken bake, with a side of sautéed shallots, kale and carrots.

20140307-210119.jpg

  • After playing (he is getting better at figuring out his shape sorter) and reading books, I made him his night time bottle
20140307-210133.jpg

The very last scoop of his formula. It was all that was left in the can, and we are never buying any more!

  • We headed upstairs for our nightly quiet play time with more books, and then it was time for bed.
20140307-210150.jpg

I have given up on keeping his mirror smudge free. Look at that adorableness!

20140307-210515.jpg

Gideon having his last night time bottle as a 1 year old, and we read his current favorite book: “La Oruga Muy Hambrienta”.

And here is a snippet I took of him right before going down for the night.

We love him so much! It’s been a great year!

4 thoughts on “First Birthday Eve!

  1. He is so precious! Just like his mommy! I loved reading about the eve of his birthday!! Happy Birthday Gideon!

yes?

