Love Is Of God

Today was a good day. I didn’t get all the items checked off my to-do list, but I’m OK with that. Gideon wasn’t feeling too great. I questioned whether his moods were rooted in a molar making it’s debut, or possibly an ear infection. We stayed in and did our usual routine of work mixed with play in between. I finally put Gideon down for his afternoon nap, woke him up an hour later, and headed to the chiropractor. Gideon lay on top of me so I could comfort him since he was fussy. As soon as the chiropractor was done, Gideon collapsed on top of me, and didn’t want to move. He was so relaxed, and immediately felt better. I think he would have fallen asleep if I hadn’t had to get up. Gideon sat like a wet rag in his car seat on the way home, and didn’t make a peep. The rest of the day went much smoother.

I only got one picture today. This evening I was cleaning the kitchen after dinner and Gideon was having none of it. He wanted me close and my full attention,  and I am always happy to oblige.

20140303-201248.jpg

 

I get things done much slower when I wear him while I work, but it’s always worth it in the end. He is, after all, my sidekick.

I was reminded tonight of how vital and significant it is to subject Gideon to songs of profession and prayer to our Creator. I happened to be singing a song that I’ve loved since I was in high school. My first experience ever with a youth group was at my family’s main supporting congregation. I was fourteen. I will never forget what a hard time I had keeping it together the first time I sat with a group of fellow teenagers and heard them singing. “The Greatest Commands” in particular almost sent me outside because my whole face hurt in an effort to keep the tears at bay. I yearned so much for that fellowship that I requested a tape recording of the youth group singing their favorite songs.

When I received it, I locked myself in my room and lay in bed to hear every single one straight through. I still have that tape to this day.

When Gideon sings songs to God, I want him to feel those same emotions. I want the words he is saying to always mean something to him. I pray that whenever Gideon goes through anything – good or bad – a song to God is the first thing that pops in his mind.

yes?

