An Update That Is Long Overdue

It’s been too long since I last wrote on my blog. Life has been busy and blogging took a backseat. Even though there is a small part of me that regrets not writing an update at the end of the day, I am both aware and at peace with the fact that other things take precedence sometimes.

Gideon will be 1 year old at 12:56 AM this coming Saturday, March 8th.

It has been such a wonderful year. Gideon has brought so much joy to Daniel and I, and we always talk about how we can’t imagine life without him. He is a part of our lives, and a part of our family. I find his little socks under the sheets in the morning when I make the bed, he’s “hidden” the remote and refuses to tell us where he put it, and there are traces of his presence in our home strewn all over the house.

I love it.

Here are a few pictures of the past week or two.

20140301-222517.jpg

Play dates with mommies and babies from our Bradley Birth Class. Here is Gideon and his friends jamming on a coffee table.

20140301-222725.jpg

He has so much fun with his friends!

20140301-222545.jpg

I finally received my Valentines Day cupcakes in the mail, and was beyond thrilled. We got a double order since they were late, and got to have friends and family over to share and enjoy them with.

20140301-222604.jpg

Beautiful, delicious cupcakes! We didn’t mind cheating at all!

And here is a video of what Daniel and Gideon occupy their time with while I’m at work:

It was Daniels’s long weekend off, so we got to have a lot of fun together. It all started when we realized Gideon had outgrown his Britax pumpkin carseat, and bought his first convertible car seat! He loves it, and looks like such a big boy. We’ve decided to have him rear facing as long as possible, but he doesn’t mind it at all. He loves reading books in the car, so it’s especially adorable to look in the mirrors and see nothing but an open book (often times upside down) and his little hands. I’ll have to get a picture of that, because it melts my heart. He’s a bookworm like his mama!

Yesterday it was sunny and a toasty 50 degrees, glorious weather, so we spent most of the day out and about. Daniel and I went on our first date in a long time in the morning/early afternoon while Gideon stayed with Daniel’s parents. We headed to a local coffee shop, and then watched “The Monuments Men”. It was a great time, and at the end we were refreshed and excited to pick up our little man. In the afternoon, we went to REI to pick up Gideon’s main birthday gift.

The Yepp Mini

The Yepp Mini

20140301-222624.jpg

20140301-222639.jpg

We decided to get Gideon a front sitting bike seat for his first spring and summer as a toddler. I haven’t seen Daniel so excited about something in a long time. He can’t wait to take our shorty off-road biking. Daniel did not want to order online, because he wanted to make sure Gideon liked it and fit in it well. It was mounted and ready on Daniel’s bike minutes after we got home. If I know Gideon as well as I think I do, he is going to absolutely love riding in his front bike seat. 

We’ve been watching a ton of mountain bike races, and I’m psyched at the fantastic women who compete! They are so good! I’ve been inspired to try my hand at it. The plan is for me to get a mountain bike for my birthday so we can go riding as a family. We’ll see how that goes. I love the idea of mountain biking, but my bad knee makes me nervous. Daniel is a huge bike expert, and says that with a quality mechanism I shouldn’t have trouble. Plus he says there are tricks to take pressure off my knees. I’ll take it slow, but I would love to ride like one of these awesome gals:

mountain biking

So inspiring!! [ source ]

 We are making it a goal this year to spend as much time in the outdoors as possible. This winter has been rough, long, drawn out, and extreme. We are expecting another snow storm tonight, and I’m hoping it’s the last until next winter.

Come soon, warm weather.

yes?

