Gideon’s First/My Favorite Valentines day!

Gideon’s first Valentine’s day got off to a great start. He was holding on to his elephant that he sleeps with (the one Daniel gave him a few weeks ago), and we snuggled for a few minutes before getting our day started. His poor little face was caked in dry boogers, so we played in his bathroom for a little bit while hot water run in the shower. We read books and played with his bathtub toys. After that it was time for breakfast. I cut some pancakes I made yesterday into heart shapes, and we both enjoyed a valentine themed morning meal.

Last night I set out Gideon and Daniel’s valentine gifts on the table, so we could enjoy them together.

20140214-214007.jpg

My gift to Daniel was a jar of dates! I simply wrote a bunch of ideas of things to do together as stay-in or go-out dates on some colorful paper strips, and put them in an old jelly jar.

20140214-214016.jpg

We got Gideon a Fisher Price Rock-a-Stack, wrote him individual notes in a card, and put a DVD about cute forrest animals and some baked goods I made in a little robot bag I found in the dollar spot at Target. It’s about the only boyish valentine’s day item I could find, and it will be re-used to hold his V Day treats and gifts until he’s too old for it.

Gideon went down for his morning nap, and slept for a whopping 3 hours! I got a ton done around the house, and even got ready for work uninterrupted. As soon as I got out of the shower, he started stirring. Perfect timing!

I had to rush to work, because I didn’t want to end up in the thick of the snow storm coming our way. It took everything in me to get out the door. I didn’t want to leave this cuteness.

20140214-214035.jpg

So much for not coming home in the thick of the snow storm. Work went a little long, which is not out of the ordinary. I really enjoyed my patients today and got a to do a nice variety of therapies, which made the drive home a lot less tension-filled. Here are some pictures of my drive home.

20140214-214109.jpg

slipping and sliding!

20140214-214138.jpg

20140214-214146.jpg

this particular portion of the ride home was quite nerve racking because I was like the only crazy person on the interstate!

There is no way of avoiding uphill driving to get to our house, and there was a particular road where I thought I was going to get permanently stuck. But Daniel has taught me some tricks, and I got home without any difficulty.

I got home just in time to play with Gideon, and then we snuggled up to watch an episode on his new DVD and snack on some treats.  Daniel and I shared a late dinner together, and now we are going to wind down for the night. Daniel was super disappointed that my V Day gift did not arrive in the mail today because of the crazy weather. But let me just tell you. When I saw this on the computer, it made the delay totally worth it!

georgetowncupcakes!

You don’t understand. It’s on my bucket list to eat a cupcake from Georgetown Cupcakes. I daydream about the day I will get to eat one.

Daniel!!!! You!!!! Are!!!! Incredible!!!!

This, my first time having TWO valentines, was the best one of my whole life. The end.

yes?

