EAT the salt of the earth!

I have been waiting and waiting to run out of my final container of Morton Iodized Salt. On Saturday night I finally shook the last of it onto the mashed potatoes I contributed to Daniel and his dad’s birthday dinner. I was thrilled to be able to move on to better things. We have raised the bar on so many of the staple foods in our home, and salt is next.

Since I left home and began purchasing my own groceries I have reached for the cheapest, store brand salt. Most of what I used to purchase and then ingest was greatly dictated by the price tag. Salt was no exception. Salt was one of those things I would toss in the cart and not think about again until I was running low on it.

Times have changed. Now I’m responsible for my health and the health of two men (one grown, one little) who are pretty much a big deal to me. So today was “salt research” day during Gideon’s afternoon nap. I wasn’t too shocked at what I found. I came across the usual opposing for and against opinions, biased brand websites, and even those obscure websites that you think make good points but – based on what reliable resources?

I was certain of a few things that helped lay solid groundwork before I even began researching the topic of salt:

1. God created salt.

2. Salt can  be found in the ground and in the ocean.

3. I’ve seen salt in its most natural, unpolluted form in:

a. salt accumulations and buildup on ocean rocks and cliffs, which looks white from far away but gray from up close.

b. I’ve been to the Salar de Atacama and remember very clearly the gray and pink hues of the landscape. I also remember a bunch of flamingos flying overhead, which is why I chose this picture.

{ Source } because I didn't take the trouble of digging up old pictures from storage in the basement.

{ Source } because I didn’t take the trouble of digging up old pictures from storage in the basement.

4. Salt in its true form does not even remotely resemble the stark white powder I flavor(ed) my food with.

5. We as a human race have a tendency of messing things up.

6. Salt is more than likely not the exception to #5.

7. God used salt as an analogy of what His believers should bring to the world. In New Testament times, this must have meant a great deal. Salt must have been a very expensive and valuable spice.

8. If God made salt, and then used it as an example to illustrate what an impact christians should have on the world, then it must be rich, nutritious, and good for the body.

9. All I hear nowadays is that salt is directly connected to high blood pressure, fluid retention, and heart disease.

10. Salt is the devil, basically.

10. Something’s not right, and with mankind’s track record I don’t think it’s God.

So.  

After spending about 2 hours reading away, I came to a conclusion that isn’t really earth-shattering. The same goes for salt as goes for the rest of the food we eat. If it’s straight from the ground, hasn’t been stripped, does not contain additives, and is loaded with minerals and flavor, then it’s welcome into our kitchen. The three main types of salt that fit my standards most closely are: Celtic Sea Salt, Himalayan Salt, and Real Salt.

If you see any of the following terms on your salt container label, it’s been tampered with:

Sodium Bicarbonate, Sodium Iodide, Silicon Dioxide, Yellow Prussiate of Soda (YPS),  Sodium Ferro Cyanide (E535), Sodium Silicoaluminate, Magnesium Carbonate, Magnesium Oxide, Calcium Silicate, Potassium Iodide, Tricalcium Phosphate, Dextrose (sugar), Potassium Chloride, Potassium Bitartrate, Potassium Glutamate, Adipic Acid, Fumaric Acid, Polyethylene Glycol 400, Disolium Inosinate, Polysilicate Potassium, Iodide 

{ Source }

Tomorrow I’m headed to the nearest health food store (Kroger and Meijer don’t carry it) to buy Daniel’s milk and our latest salt choice, Real Salt. We have Celtic and Himalayan salt on the back burner, but salt straight from a mine in Utah sounds just fine to us. We won’t pay overhead for overseas shipping if we don’t have to.

If you are way ahead of us, good for you! If not, I hope some of these resources are useful to you and that you can learn more about salt if it’s something you are interested in. If you are neither of the above, then have a laugh with this picture of Gideon stuffing his face at his first Superbowl Party last night.

thanks for snapping this picture, Sarah!

thanks for snapping this picture, Sarah!

He ate 4 chicken wings, a ton of guacamole, and black bean and white corn salsa. Gideon loved Superbowl food so much that he didn’t even mind that the Broncos lost.

Soundtrack: Francesca Battistelli and Plumb

Project Simplify 365: I purged the last of the few items from our laundry room that weren’t being used. I have not forgotten my laundry room entry, it’s coming along and I’ll post a few pictures when it’s completed.

yes?

