Another Snow Day

Another day in January, another day of snowfall. It has been snowing on and off for a week, and then it stopped day before yesterday. The snow was beginning to settle, and I could see all the paw prints of animals all over the backyard and front yard. I thought the snow was over, so I made big plans to get out with Gideon and make it an errand day today. My initial hustle and bustle when I got out of bed came to a screeching halt when I opened my bedroom window this morning. Sure enough, a few more inches had covered my street and my driveway. I love seeing the snow. And this morning especially was enchanting. It was still dark, windy and blizzard-like. But all the same, I let a sigh of disappointment escape me. I was really looking forward to getting out of indoor clothes and out the door for some fresh air.

I haven’t let it lick me yet, but I can see for sure why people say they get in this depressed funk over the winter. If one is not careful, one can really let cabin fever, lack of sunshine and fresh air ruin the winter season. If Gideon weren’t here, and I were cooped up in this house without going to work or nothing to do, I can guarantee you I would not have the positive outlook that I have right now.

Gideon has been such a good sport through this freezing weather. At times he is more clingy than others, but even when he wants to be close to me I have no problem dropping what I’m doing and playing with him on the floor for a little while. I’d rather play with him than do whatever chore I’m doing! If he’s especially fussy I’ll just wear him, and we both win.

For the most part, though, Gideon is really into exploring this little world of our first floor. He loves to sit by the dining room windows and watch the traffic. It’s the most adorable thing ever. I haven’t gotten any pictures of it, because as soon as he hears the camera it would shatter that beautiful little vision I’m trying to admire.

All in all, today was a good day. It’s Daniel’s birthday week, and we are plain out of food. So I officiated today as a cheat day and ordered pizza. We enjoyed our slices of pizza while watching an episode of “Shark Tank”. That was seriously the highlight of my day. I’m feeling it now, but it was totally worth it. My day is now come to an end, and I think I’m going to make it a girly night for myself. I’m going to enjoy a nice warm shower, and maybe even give myself a little selfie-pedi before going to bed.

This is what happens when I take a quick bathroom break.

This is what happens when I take a quick bathroom break.

My big boy!

My big boy!

He is the best!

He is the best!

yes?

