Sprucing up the Laundry Room: Step 1

We are going on day 3 of snow. Tonight we are supposed to get a few more inches. I love snow, I love cold. Having Gideon changes things, though. While I used to get on with my life when it snowed, bundling up a 10 month old and preparing for even the simplest of errands is sometimes just not worth it to me. So I try to make the most of our time at home, and remind myself that spring will be here before we know it. We can make up for lost time in the great outdoors when the weather gets better.

We had invited Daniel’s parents over for dinner last night, but I got called in to work so we cancelled. Instead, we had a delicious lunch together and spent time visiting before the snowfall began at 3:30 PM. I made some beef butternut squash chili, and it was a hit with everyone. I made some for Gideon as well without a lot of the spices or tomatoes, and he devoured it. After we put Gideon down for his afternoon nap, we sat down for a good game of Scrabble.Scrabble

Gideon loves his grandparents

Gideon loves his grandparents

3/4 of the way through the game, we got sidetracked and began talking about some of our home improvement and remodeling projects that we want to accomplish someday. Daniel’s parents recently re-did their kitchen, and it was great to get good ideas and insight as to what you can expect when such a big project is taken on. It got us both excited for sprucing up our home in small ways while we dream about those mammoth ventures of ours.

Here are some pictures of our day and a clip of Gideon being cute.

Gideon loved his leftovers with avocados and apples.

Gideon loved his leftovers with avocados and apples.

Before bedtime we spend a little while in his room letting his bum get air time and reading books. Gideon has a hard time deciding on a book to read.

Before bedtime we spend a little while in his room reading books. Gideon has a hard time picking one, so he just pulls them all out of the shelf and throws them on the floor.

If it were up to Gideon, everything would be made out of books.

If it were up to Gideon, everything would be made out of books.

Daniel built a shelf for me in the laundry room, and I’m so excited to decorate and put some finishing touches on the room to make it less of a utility room, and more of an extension of our home.

Laundry Room: Before

Laundry Room: Before

I’m ready to make the space – not only functional – but pleasing to the eye.

What I want from the laundry room:

– a space that is welcoming to us when we get home

– a space that makes me happy to be in, even when it’s to do not-fun things such as laundry!

– streamline, bright, and airy

What I need from the laundry room:

– a space where we can peal off the layers when we get home

– functionality

– minimalism

– storage

– practicality

– feeling of openness

– systematic. I needs things to go smoothly.

– easy to maintain

– did I saw functionality and practicality?

There. Step 1 complete. Tomorrow I’m going to begin step 2: purging excess and planning how I’m going to get my needs met.

Project Simplify 365: In an effort to rid ourselves of all our plastic food storage containers, I bought three glass containers from the Dollar Tree. True treasures if I may say so. Just like my Pyrex containers, only much cheaper!

Purging Plastic

I got rid of 4 plastic containers, two of which were missing lids, and the other two (stained and all scratched up) Daniel will recycle and use in his wood workshop.

yes?

