Baked Pancakes

Gideon has begun sleeping through the night and we love it. He’s had a few nights where he needs a red eye diaper change, but 8 PM to 6 or 7 AM the next morning is the new norm. I actually don’t mind that he wakes up a little earlier than he used to. Gideon continues to take a nap 2 hours after he wakes up, and an earlier morning nap means he’s more rested for church on Sunday mornings and the Mommy Bible Study we go to on Thursday mornings. It also allows Gideon to see Daniel in the mornings for a little while, which is a boost to everyone’s moral.

What with Gideon having been sick and then developing a stubborn night-time cough, it’s thrown a little wrench in the routine we had established last year.  We grew to accept it and went with the flow. Like I’ve elaborated on before, we are ok with the fact that there are times when routines can be maintained, and other times require flexibility. For the past few weeks, going with the flow has been really helpful for us. Now that Gideon is feeling better and sleeping through the night pretty consistently, I think I’m ready to get us back into a day routine. When we all are in good health, we seem to really thrive and enjoy our day more when there is somewhat of a pattern to follow and anticipate. I’m looking forward to seeing what our new day-to-day looks like.

Today Gideon’s day started at 6:30 AM. It was a cold morning, and cold mornings always call for a lot of snuggling and giggling and singing songs. Daniel got a little bit of quality time with Gideon, and then it was time for breakfast. We had some yummy almond butter pancakes for breakfast. I chose to bake them since the pancake flipper Daniel was not around. I drizzled a tiny bit of maple syrup on them and served them with some banana, and it was a huge hit with the little guy. Who doesn’t like a sweet treat?

Gideon is excited to eat his first pancakes

Gideon is excited to eat his first pancakes

Pancakes were a hit with the little man.

Pancakes were a hit with the little man.

While Gideon took his morning nap, I got things picked up and got ready to hit the grocery store as soon as he woke up. I really was not looking forward to getting Gideon out in the cold, but I had no choice. Snow was threatening, so as soon as Gideon woke up we were out the door. I strapped Gideon in the Ergo, and we shopped. He loves being face to face with me, and learning the names of all the vegetables and fruit in the produce section. There was a sweet old man with a thick accent who was asking me about my reusable produce bags. When he talked to my little sidekick, Gideon got shy, smiled, and nuzzled up against my chest. It was so sweet.  Sweet little memories I want to tuck away.

I tried to rush through the store (ended up forgetting a few key items) to avoid getting stuck in snow. But the snow caught up with us, and it was falling pretty hard when we exited the store. Having Gideon in the Ergo kept him cozy, though, since I threw his big thick blanket over him, and I don’t think he ever felt the cold. He fell asleep on the way home, transitioned from the carseat, and I ended up collapsing on the couch with my sleeping baby boy. It was cold enough outside to keep my groceries fresh in the car.

He woke up about 15 minutes later in a great mood, and played while I got lunch ready.

Gideon absolutely loves stuffed animals. He'll burry his head in them, and snuggle with them. Mr. Fox is not exception.

Gideon absolutely loves stuffed animals. He’ll burry his head in them, and snuggle with them. Mr. Fox is not exception.

I made my first batch of arrowroot cookies for Gideon yesterday, and Daniel and I liked them so much, they'll be a new staple in our kitchen.

I made my first batch of arrowroot cookies for Gideon yesterday, and Daniel and I liked them so much, they’ll be a new staple in our kitchen.

Here is a clip from one of the fun moments we had today. Who says laundry should be folded? Gideon strongly believes it’s overrated.

Soundtrack: A 90’s playlist that I am just loving. Spice Girls, Sugar Ray, Aaliyah, old Matchbox 20 stuff … it’s music that will always hold a special place in my heart. I’ve been listening to it a lot after Gideon’s in bed and it’s time to clean up. Makes cleanup go by much faster.

Project Simplify 365: Went through the pens in the kitchen desk and tossed all the ones that don’t work.

2 thoughts on “Baked Pancakes

yes?

