Project Simplify 365

In the past I’ve written about how Daniel and I strive to simplify our lives. The more clutter we keep in our day-to-day life, the less we can enjoy the simple things that make life great. We are not close to having mastered the skill of eliminating all excess from our lives, but it’s something we always strive for. There are certain areas of our home that I have organized and re-organized until I finally found a system that keeps us from collecting more than we need. Our master bathroom, linen closet, and laundry room are examples of this. After trying and purging, and trying and purging again, we finally found an arrangement that works for us and keeps chaos at bay.This year I have a few new areas that I’m excited to target in this quest for a simplistic lifestyle.

Today I came across something called Project Simplify 365. After reading about it, I decided I’m going to give it a try. I am going to try to simplify or purge one area of my life every day for a year. No matter how small the area might be. Perhaps one day I’ll get rid of a few old nail polishes that look gross and oily (I have a few of those), or drop off some old DVD’s at Goodwill. Whatever the thing I decide to simplify, I’m really looking forward to this.  I have a feeling it’s going to be fun and liberating – which I’m all about.

Today was a cold day. I ran one quick errand in the late morning, and that was enough. Gideon spent the day in his snowman PJ’s terrorizing poor Abby. He’s getting faster at his crawling, and she’s learning to put a little more pep in her step when it’s time to escape his chubby little hands. A little bird found shelter under the smoker outside our deck doors, and we all enjoyed watching him bouncing around with his feathers are fluffed up to keep warm. I saw a few deer in our neighbors backyard from Gideon’s bedroom window, and I couldn’t help but feel a little sorry for them. They aren’t looking as plump as usual, and they were walking very cautiously in the slippery, icy snow scrounging for food. I have considered throwing deer feed out over the deck, but I don’t want to attract desperate deer to our yard and have them run over by cars.

Daniel built a nice fire in the stove, and it’s already dying down. The stove is working overtime to compete with these frigid temperatures. I’m going to get some more wood from the porch and feed the fire before I call it a night.

What are some things you do to keep your life simple?

6 thoughts on “Project Simplify 365

  1. Pingback: Making Connections | It's not what the world holds for you,

  2. Pingback: EAT the salt of the earth! | It's not what the world holds for you,

  3. Pingback: Sprucing up the Laundry Room: Step 1 | It's not what the world holds for you,

  4. Pingback: Baked Pancakes | It's not what the world holds for you,

  5. Pingback: Gideon’s First: Big Tumble | It's not what the world holds for you,

  6. Pingback: My Little Giant | It's not what the world holds for you,

yes?

