Gideon’s First: 3 Part Christmas

Gideon’s first Christmas happened in 3 parts. One took place earlier on in Searcy, AR with my side of the family, then on Christmas Day with our immediate family on Daniel’s side, and finally today with our extended family.

When we were in Searcy I had access to a T5i my parents were taking care of. So my DSLR kind of never got removed from our car. I also completely forgot to transfer all the pictures and video to my computer. Oy. I’m still working on getting them.  I’ll go ahead and summarize what happened on our first Christmas celebration. We shared a yummy brunch and I got to make yummy banana pancakes. We opened our gifts, and spent time playing with Gideon and my newest nephew who was only around 2 weeks old at the time. We then had our family pictures taken by my dear friend Lindsay, who is a very talented photographer.  It was the first Christmas I’d spent with my immediate family in a few years, so it goes down in the books and in my heart as one of the best Christmas’s of all time.

On Christmas Eve Gideon and I recouped from our first long family trip and stayed home. We relaxed in our PJ’s and watched a lot of Veggie Tales Christmas videos.

Gideon on Christmas Eve GIdeon on Christmas EveOn Christmas Day, we woke up and prepared to have some family over for a delicious meal and opening gifts.

It's become a Christmas tradition to prank Daniel's brother, Kyle. This year we got him a monopod gun to help him advance his photography skills.  You'd have to know Kyle to know why giving him a gift that looked like a rifle was quite hilarious.

It’s become a Christmas tradition to prank Daniel’s brother, Kyle. This year we got him a monopod gun to help him advance his photography skills. You’d have to know Kyle to know why giving him a gift that looked like a rifle was quite hilarious.

Gideon's Gifties!

Gideon says thank you for all his nifty gifties!

Gideon and his great-grandma and his grandpa

Cousin pic with their yearly tree ornaments!

Cousin pic with their yearly tree ornaments!

This morning we woke up and quickly got to work on last minute prep before the influx of family. Daniel carried Gideon on his back most of the morning, and Gideon didn’t make a peep the whole time. They’re buddies!

Kangaroo Carry

For the record, I really want to journal that I appreciate Daniel so much. He woke up early, got the ham started, and got some of the to-do list done before I woke up for the day. I am so blessed to be married to Daniel!

Here are a few more pics from our day.

these kids, are what makes Christmas fun. We sang a little Christmas carol before gifts, and they are such a delight to watch and LISTEN to. They say the most off-the-wall things.

these kids are such a delight to watch and LISTEN to. They say the most off-the-wall things.

Gideon in is new puppy hat from our next door neighbors.

Gideon in is new puppy hat from our next door neighbors.

This is how we Roll

this is how we roll at the end of the day.

On a sad note, I felt really sick today. I socialized as much as I possibly could. When my head started throbbing and I could no longer hear myself talk, I knew it was time to retreat. I slept for a good 5 hours, and woke up in the late afternoon completely disoriented but rested.

I love my family so much, and the saddest part of today was not being able to celebrate with them like I usually do. I don’t wish being sick for family gatherings on anyone. I really missed out, and I look forward to making up lost time when we see each other again.

yes?

