Snow Day / Sick Day

First Snow of the Year

The second day of the year brought the first snow for 2014. It was a beautiful snowfall, and I welcomed the excuse to stay indoors. Being cooped up in the house with this view isn’t really an issue to me at all. Poor Daniel ran the snowblower on the driveway and it was covered in snow again in a matter of minutes. He did manage to make it to the back and collect some more dried wood for the stove, so we’re set for the next few days.

Gideon was feeling under the weather today. He wasn’t able to nap for more than 30 minutes at a time, which means Gideon wasn’t in the best of moods poor guy. I noticed he was a little congested and was a little warm. As the day progressed it got a little worse. He was drooling a lot and rubbing his gums together which is not like him. Poor guy must be cutting some teeth, and it’s causing a little more discomfort than his lower incisors did. The to-do list was nowhere near completed today, but I didn’t mind that at all. I love taking care of Gideon and comforting him. He spent a big chunk of the late afternoon in the Ergo and even took a few little catnaps here and there. I mastered the hip carry a week ago, and we’ve been loving it since. It gives us both some more freedom to move and look around.

Tonight it was early to bed for Gideon, and I’m trying to play catch up before bed since I have a feeling it’s going to be a long night. I propped his head up a little in the crib, and set up the warm mist humidifier in his room. I’m crossing my fingers he gets one long stretch of sleep because we both need our rest before our busy weekend.

Gideon the Bookworm

Gideon is obsessed with books. He spends a lot of time practicing his fine motor skills in opening the books and turning the pages.

Gideon the Bookworm

first snow day of the year

first snow day of the year

snuggling my baby. He wasn't feeling good today.

snuggling my baby. He wasn’t feeling good today.

What do you find comforts your little one when he/she doesn’t feel well?

yes?

