Bed Head

When I walked into the nursery this morning, I melted into a puddle of mush on the floor. It’s not uncommon for Gideon to start the day with adorable pillow face, but this morning his adorableness took on a whole new dimension. First of all, he had puffy morning eyes. Second, he has a little bruise on his forehead from banging it on the deck door yesterday. And third, he had his first case of bed head! See for yourself!

bedhead.001

Daniel was off of work today, so we spent most of the day playing and relaxing at home. While Gideon napped, Daniel and I stole some snuggle time in bed and enjoyed some hot chocolate and Hulu Plus reruns. Daniel distracted Gideon for a while so I could catch up on some cleaning. After freshening up we headed out for dinner with some dear friends of ours.

One of my closest friends, Chantelle, made some of her delicious butternut squash soup and was kind enough to share some of it with us. I had 4 or 5 bowls of it, no joke. We had fun sitting around the table visiting and Gideon had a blast playing and petting her dog, Bree. Chantelle told us a story about an encounter she had with a neighbor the other day while she was out for a walk. Chantelle’s neighbor made some rude comments, and Chantelle’s feelings were hurt. She told us that she was not pleased with her initial response. In order to mend whatever wrong Chantelle felt she’d done, she left a note of apology on her neighbor’s front door. The very next day Chantelle found an apologetic response from her neighbor on her front porch. Now they smile and wave at each other in passing.

The main reason Chantelle felt she needed to correct her mistake is because she takes her faith and her christianity that seriously. It’s a small, sweet story. But the root message and impact of it is very strong in my life. It’s so easy for me to get comfortable in my life, and shrug off missed opportunities to emulate God. One of the reasons I admire Chantelle is because she is always very intentional in the messages that she sends – whether via body language, words, or writing. She does not take God’s positive impact on her life lightly and wants to make sure that everyone sees the effect He has in her life.

In some ways I’m a perfectionist and very Type A. I am a slacker in others. I think that if I envision every single aspect of my life as a way to profess God’s love and my gratitude for his blessings, I will become more intentional and truly productive.

Do you have trouble being intentional in some aspects of your life? What do you do about it?

2 thoughts on “Bed Head

yes?

