Snot Suckers: The NoseFrida

So updates have been sparse the last couple of days, greatly due to lack of sleep and a more hectic schedule than usual. Poor Gideon has been fighting some really bad nasal congestion, and therefore so have Daniel and I. We’ve tried all sorts of tactics to combat  the war against nasal congestion. I’ve kept him constantly near a warm mist humidifier and infused the air with eucalyptus oil, sprayed his nose with homemade nasal drops using a medicine dropper, and suctioned his nose with the NoseFrida. Have you heard of the NoseFrida? If you have, then there is 50% chance you are either thinking “genius” or “gross. gag me.” Daniel cannot bring himself to be in the same room when it is used, and I think it’s the greatest invention ever. Whatever your opinion on this rather strange object, you cannot deny that it is more effective than that obnoxious nose bulb. If you decide to look into it, this is what the box looks like.

Nose FridaI found the NoseFrida at Whole Foods for $15. The picture on the cover of the box is pretty self-explanatory. Refills boxes cost under $3 and include 20 filters.

IMG_8988

the back of the box.

I’m not going to push this item down people’s throats because I really do understand why people may not be able to stomach it. But at the same time, I want to review this item to maybe give you some perspective.

We tried the nose bulbs. I only got frustrated with them. I tried different brands and none of them met my standards. They were nasty, I never felt like I could get them clean enough after use, and they didn’t really help Gideon breath better. I’d heard a lot of good things about the NoseFrida and decided to try it. After using it for the last 4 days, I’m 100% a believer. It’s extremely effective. When I’m able to clear his airway, I’m not only helping him breathe better, but I’m helping prevent sore throats from postnasal drainage or mouth breathing, as well as ear infections. For all that, I’ll be the snot sucker of the family!  Gideon hates it and screams bloody murder, but does not cry because it causes absolutely no pain. He just hates being held down, and dislikes anything near his nostrils. But once we are done, he is breathing clearly and oohing and cooing. Nothing has helped clear his nose as much as the NoseFrida.

The homemade nasal saline that I use with Gideon is 1/4 tsp of salt to 8 oz of water (“The Portable Pediatrician”)

Have you tried the NoseFrida, or know anyone who has? Let me know what you think if you decide to try it.

4 thoughts on “Snot Suckers: The NoseFrida

  1. Never used one but plan to get it for this baby! I have a friend from Holland who says this is the BEST EVER! 🙂

yes?

