Paleo Banana Bread

I’ve wanted to try flourless cooking for a while now. My first attempt was a success! I got this recipe from Life as a Plate.

The recipe calls for 2 ripe bananas, 2 eggs, baking soda, maple syrup, cinnamon, nutmeg, apple sauce, cashew butter, and a blender. 

Paleo Banana Bread: ingredientsYou dump all the ingredients in the blender and mix them. Doesnt get much simpler than that.

Paleo Banana BreadThe batter was runny and smooth once it was all mixed together. It smelled great!

Paleo Banana Bread

After pouring the batter in a loaf pan, I baked at 325 degrees. The instructions called for  45 minutes. Since it was my first time making this particular recipe I tested the bread at 30 minutes and then at 40. It passed the clean knife test at the 40 minute mark. Just as with any new recipe, check your bread before the allotted time. You oven does not work the same as the next person’s.

"what a pretty loaf of bread!" - me

“what a pretty loaf of bread!” – me

Daniel couldn’t wait for the bread to cool. He started pecking at it as soon as it was out of the oven.

Paleo Banana Bread

The adjectives that came to mind when I tried to describe the taste and consistency of the bread were: yummy, soft, light, and smooth. It’s fluffy, but not thick.

Paleo Banana Bread

The bread literally melted in your mouth, and did not feel thick in my throat going down. It was wonderful, and Daniel loved it too. We had it for an evening treat, and then for breakfast this morning.  It was so easy to make, and very delicious.

If you try this recipe, let me know how it goes!

2 thoughts on “Paleo Banana Bread

    • Yes it absolutely looks like bread. I added a picture of a slice of the bread for you to see. About the peanut butter, I say try it! The cashew butter was a lot thicker than peanut butter, but I don’t think it would change the taste much. Let me know how it goes if you give it a try.

yes?

