Ketchup Time!

Oof! It’s been a while! I need to stop spacing my blog entries out so much. Time to hit the ground running, and I’ve got to keep it as short as possible because I’m spent!

H o u s e k e e p i n g 

  1. On a previous post I said I was going to make an itemized grocery list comparing Trader Joe’s vs. Kroger’s prices “in a week or so”. Well, that was two months ago and no such itemized list exists. You see where my priorities don’t lay. A lot has changed since then, and Trader Joe’s is so last May. My last large grocery haul was at Whole Foods, and I had such a blast. Baby daddy was at home with Gideon, and I got to walk every single aisle, and take my time. I’m looking to make a few small but significant changes in how my family eats, and it was so educational to look at new products, and make notes. No really. I had a notebook and was taking notes like I was training for a new job or something.
    So. Long story short, yes the dog ate my ho- grocery list, but believe me. I’m nothing if persistent. For my benefit and yours (yes?), I will have an itemized list comparing prices from Whole Foods and Kroger up. Soon.
  2. My wheels have been turning about the direction I want this blog to take, and I envision the following:
  • First and foremost, this is a place I will keep track of Gideon’s development and milestones. I want people who love him but live far away to have access to what is going on his life. I also want to be able to look back on these entries in the years to come, and be reminded of things I would have otherwise forgotten.
  • I want this blog to be a place where people can check in and find whatever they are in the mood to read. Cute baby updates, stories about things that happen to me that strike a chord, mindless banter about every day living, very intentional banter about every day living, product and book reviews, a perspective (whether new, shared, or divergent) on spiritual, political, socio-emotional topics, and…
  • Tips on how to make life simple. Practical stuff. So this blog will include things like reflections on how we try to eliminate excess from our lives, organization tips,  updates on how we are trying to harness resources in own home, information on what I’m learning about food and nutrition, etc.  Since we bought our current forever home, we have veered away from striving for that american dream and started making ongoing decisions to simplify our lives, become healthier, happier, and more self-sufficient. In short, we’ve worked at going back to the basics in terms of how we spend our time, our money, how we eat, and how we want to raise our family. Four years into this new lifestyle we’re forming, we are both very happy with the decisions we’ve made. Keeping life simple and free of all types of clutter (emotional, time-related, material) has really worked for us. Living simplistically has actually made our life more abundant than ever, and we look forward to our time with each other and with our son. Simplification is an ongoing process, and we are excited to continue working on it. I’d love for you to come with me on this journey, and I’d love even more to hear from you.
  • I’m only 4 months into this motherhood thing, and every single day there is something new I want to relay to the world around me. I have frustrations, I feel overwhelmed and unqualified, I’m so full of love that I can’t contain all of it, I’m anxious about the long-term effects of every single decision I make, I want so badly to make good ones. I want to know what all of my options are for Gideon, and make educated decisions when it comes to parenting, diet, discipline, etc. There are stories I want to tell about things that happen to me, eye-opening epiphanies about God, who He is, and what that means for mankind.  I have so much pent up inspiration I want to share with you. Little by little, I will get it on here.
  • Blessing and encouraging others. If I learn or experience something inspirational and positive, I want you to benefit from it too!

Monthly Goals:        J U L Y 

Accountability is a huge thing for me – especially with things that are more trivial than not in the grand scheme of things. Just to clarify, this isn’t my to-do list. To-do lists are always changing and never interesting. So I’m going to begin posting my monthly goals on this blog. Regardless of the response this blog gets, just knowing that people I don’t see on a daily basis could judge how driven I am based on follow through with monthly goals is [hopefully] enough motivation to get me into gear. However.

DISCLAIMER/NOTE-TO-SELF: I’m not a failure for not checking every single item of any list I make. Lists and setting goals keeps me focused, and getting a list marked off to its completion is great, but lists and self-made goals will not control my life. Happiness and joy in the life God has given me is the main goal.

At the end of each month, I will update on what got done, and what did not get done what I just could not be bothered with.

July Goals

Outward:

  1. Organize master bathroom
  2. Organize upstairs linen closet
  3. Organize/decorate Gideon’s bathroom
  4. Make a binder for Gideon’s paperwork/information
  5. Try my hand at flourless baking

Inward:

  1. Pray for someone new every day
  2. Go to bed at a decent time
  3. Be intentional about contacting people who are on my heart/mind

I’ll start short and sweet, and see how it goes.

G i d e o n      U p d a t e

Gideon is now very intentional with his eye gaze. Exhibit A, his bottle. When he sees it, he gets all Rolling Stones on me, and wild horses couldn’t drag him away. His burps like a fully grown man, and gets so mad if you take the bottle away to burp him. Nipple confusion? This babe can’t be bothered with that. Got milk? Gideon does! I still have not introduced any foods to him, but Daniel is especially getting antsy. I believe he’s in the early stages of cutting teeth because he is drool central and puts every single thing in his mouth. It won’t be long before he’s gnawing on carrot sticks and chicken bones!

His hand-eye coordination is still maturing, but he’s working on it. It’s adorable to see him focus so hard on getting his hand in just the right place to grab a toy.  Gideon loves the element of surprise. He is so delighted by peek-a-boo and the sudden bang his spoons and bowls make on his Bumbo tray. He’ll have object permanence down in no time. Gideon also loves books. He is so aware of how they work, and will try to turn the pages with his right hand for the most part. I also think he’s starting to enjoy rhymes, and he loves to hear Daniel and I sing to him. The other day I played a song by Thalia called “Piel Morena” which was a huge hit when I was in middle school, and he belly laughed the whole time I danced for him, and waved my kitchen towel around. He wanted to dance too! Gideon is vocalizing like crazy. He is discovering his voice, and that he can change volumes and tones. He listens attentively, and loves interacting whether I talk to him in english or spanish. I aim at speaking to him in each language 50% of the time. He’s not showing a preference for one language over the other. Gideon’s also discovering cause and effect. “If I do this, this happens”. I know I’m mixing cognitive, motor, and other areas of development, but this is me writing “on my toes”, and not caring about how things flow.

I could go on and on, but I’m not doing well at meeting my inward goal #2 as it is.

Pictures!

Last Tuesday we went for one of our family evening walks, only we didn't put Gideon in his pumpkin seat. He rode like a big boy!

Last Tuesday we went for one of our family evening walks, only we didn’t put Gideon in his pumpkin seat. He rode like a big boy!

I surprised Daniel at the trustees meeting where he swore in as a new corporal (we are so proud!) with Gideon dressed in a police officer onesie that Daniel's cousin, Jenny, made for him. Every one thought he was pretty adorable. They thought Gideon was adorable, not Daniel. That would just be wierd.

I surprised Daniel at the trustees meeting where he swore in as a new corporal (we are so proud!) with Gideon dressed in a police officer onesie that Daniel’s cousin, Jenny, made for him. Every one thought he was pretty adorable. They thought Gideon was adorable, not Daniel. That would just be wierd.

Proud of Daddy

Gideon went to the swimming pool for the first time on Thursday, July 11th. He loved it.

Gideon went to the swimming pool for the first time on Thursday, July 11th. He loved it.

My Boys

Gideon is such a cuddle boy!

Gideon is such a cuddle boy!

I’d love input or ideas about for blog entries. I want to write about things that are interesting to you. Good night!

One thought on “Ketchup Time!

  1. Pingback: How about them July Goals? | It's not what the world holds for you,

yes?

