Father’s Day Weekend

This past weekend was quite eventful in the Gideon department. Every day I see him do new things, and he is constantly shocking the ‘rents with how smart and in-tune he is with the world around him. He is becoming more interested in whatever we are doing, and whatever is in our hands at the moment. If I’m eating, he reaches for my fork or my plate which he never did before. He is now reaching for his toes any chance he gets, rolling over, sleeping on his side, unswaddling himself 90% of the time, and belly laughing. We are so delighted. 

Gideon has also discovered his tongue. He realizes that he can stick it out and lift it up to the roof of his mouth, and make different sounds. He’s also found out that if he sticks his tongue out and blows, he can make all sorts of bubbles come out of his mouth! I’m ecstatic at his first attempts at raspberries, and I don’t even mind wiping slobber off his face every two minutes. The happier he is the more he vocalizes. The more he vocalizes the more slobber there is. The more slobber there is the more mommy gushes.

I’m sorry, but I’m going to be the mother who disregards how embarrassed her son is, and hug and kiss him silly when he gets dropped off at school. I’m just going to be. There’s no way around it. Maybe if he would stop being so cute and precious, I could get a grip on myself. Unfortunately for Gideon, that day will never come. 

So. As I was saying, this weekend was quite eventful. On Saturday he went shopping with me to Michaels, [almost Carters but I refrained], Bed Bath and Beyond, Bath and Body Works, and it wasn’t until the last of the “home” aisles at TJ Maxx that he started saying “mommy, don’t push it”. He’s such a good, big boy. Which reminds me that on Saturday he wore his first 3-6 month onesie, which he spat up on 3 hours later.

Gideon in his first 3-6 month onesie

Gideon in his first 3-6 month onesie

 Father’s Day was a total hit. Daniel only gets one First Father’s Day, so I wanted it to be perfect and memorable. It got off to a great start when Gideon surprised daddy in the morning with a celebratory onesie.

Happy First Father's Day!

 

Daniel received a baseball cap that says “Grateful Dad” which he loved, and a collage of all his favorite pictures with Gideon (pictures of them sleeping together, reading, chilling, eating) that says “Happy First Father’s Day -2013”, which I did not get a picture of. 

Also noteworthy, Gideon went to Sunday School for the first time in his life! He is blessed that his grandparents are the nursery teachers, and that his only classmate for now, is his cousin. Moriah was soo thrilled to have Gideon there. 

Gideon holds his B-I-B-L-E

Gideon holds his B-I-B-L-E

Did Gideon come to class?

Did Gideon come to class?

"Gigi! Gigi? Gigi?!" - Moriah

“Gigi! Gigi? Gigi?!” – Moriah

Dinner at the in-laws’ with the family was great. My mother-in-law made delicious herbal pasta with herbs from her own garden, delicious chicken and salad, and dessert that is out of this world. Gideon and his cousins had fun staring at each other, and Asher asked me to take a picture of them. He’s so proud of his “boy cousin”. I have a feeling Gideon is going to follow Asher around, and think he’s the coolest older boy in the world.

My two favorite little boys.

My two favorite little boys.

Daniel loves his great grandparents.

Gideon loves his great grandparents.

Proud daddy

Proud daddy

Gideon's pooped

Gideon’s pooped

Everyday Gideon and I are grateful for such a great dad and husband. We love you Daniel! How did you make your dad, husband’s Father Day special?

 

yes?

