Book Review Series: #1 “The Vaccine Book” by Dr. Sears

Life with Gideon in it is exhausting, fun, and has caused me to re-evaluate my priorities. While writing on this blog is one of the last things I feel the need to check off my daily to-do list, when I do find the time it is so special and fun to me.

That being said, I love writing about my son. It’s one of my favorite things to do when I find time for myself in my busy days. But there are multiple things I want to use this blog for. I want to express my experiences as a mother, my views on things I believe are important and useful in life, my excitement over things I enjoy, and encourage others along the way. I owe so much of what I’ve learned and now use in my life as a person and parent to people around me. This blog is me paying it forward.

I can be really wordy and longwinded, so I’m going to cut to the chase. I love books. I love looking at them, smelling them, and yes, reading them. When I’m done with a book, I often find myself pondering on it. Was it “good”? What did I get from it? Was it convincing? Would I recommend it? You get the idea. So I’ve decided I’m going to start a book review series. Most of the books I’ll be reviewing for now are geared toward those who are expecting child, or are with child because that is the bulk of what I’ve been reading this last year. I am, however, really enjoying “Heaven is for Real” by Todd Burpo. I read one chapter at a time when I find the time.

The first book I’ll be reviewing is a book that came highly recommended to me by my Bradley Method instructor Tracy Kemper. The book is called “The Vaccine Book” by Dr. Sears, a.k.a., Dr. Bob.
The Vaccine Book

Because most people interested in reading this entry are most likely mothers who don’t have time to read drawn out, formal book reviews, I’m going to keep these reviews short and sweet. Click here to get the intention, purpose, and theory from the author himself.

My opinion on:

1. His intentions, purpose, and theory:

  • Legit. The man is very wise and upfront. His popularity also speaks volumes. Thousands of parents trust his knowledge, and their children are perfectly healthy and thriving.
  • Empowering to parents. Physicians educate, parents decide. I love that about this book. He gives all the information he discovered after years and years of research, and it isn’t until the 18th chapter that he finally provides the vaccine schedule he recommends at his practice. He believes that parents have different [legitimate] reasons for feeling and doing what they do when it comes to vaccinating their children, and that parents know and will do what is best for their families. I’m all about physicians and authors who empower us as parents to follow our gut instincts.

2. Contents:

  • Thorough. On the link above is the book index of contents. It speaks for itself. There is a chapter for each vaccination, and each chapter is 6-8 pages long. That is 6-8 pages of information on one single vaccine. If you think you are well informed from the pamphlets given to you at your child’s vaccination appointments, you are partially correct. Dr. Sears breaks each chapter down into a description of the disease, its commonality, how the vaccine is made, ingredients of the vaccine by brand, controversial ingredients, and side effects of the vaccine. Most importantly, he gives a [seemingly] unbiased list of reasons why people decide their child should get their vaccine, and why others decide not to. Dr. Sears ends each chapter with a to-the-point section on “The way I see it”.
  • Organized. Manual-like. Practical. For those of us who don’t have time or desire to read these books cover to cover, he gives page numbers that allow you to skip around as you need to. For instance, if you are confused about how to follow Dr. Sears’ recommended vaccine schedule because your physician only carries combination vaccines, he tells you where to turn for information on this.

3. Research behind his alternative vaccine schedule.

  • Honest. Dr. Sears claims he spent many years investigating vaccines prior to writing the book. He is open and blunt about his frustration regarding the lack of evidence and quality studies done on the topic of things like toxicity in children given small doses of aluminum intravenously.
  • He says he spent 14 years researching. I believe him!

4. Dr. Bob’s Complete Alternative Vaccine Schedule.

  • It is not drastically different than the AAP vaccine schedule. Actually, I learned that no schedule can be drastically different than the next.
  • The main difference is that he spaces out the vaccines a little more. As Dr. Bob puts it “If some of the theoretical problems with the vaccines are real, this schedule circumvents most of them. If the problems aren’t real, then the only drawback is the extra time, effort, and cost for the additional doctor’s office visits.” Lucky for me, convenience is not a priority when it comes to Gideon’s health.
  • I believe this schedule takes all the facts, and does the best job at preventing any issues that may arise from toxicity (which has not been researched to Dr. Bob’s liking) or overloading a child with vaccines at one time. He also is very adamant about giving children their vaccines in order of importance or need based on age and risk factors in the child’s life.
  • I don’t believe that this vaccine schedule is the be all end all of vaccine schedules. God has the tiny little babies in His hands, whether they get their shots or not. Parents love their children and know what is best for them. Personally, I’m grateful God gave me a discerning mind, and a desire to be very involved in my son’s health care. In terms of  vaccine schedules for Gideon  I trust what Dr. Bob’s schedule is based on, and I follow it as much as possible. Gideon’s pediatrician offers some combination vaccines, so we will adapt the schedule as we go and space the vaccines out as much as possible.

_________________________________________

Enough of that!

It broke my heart when Gideon got his first shot. He got this spooked look on his face, his eyes grew twice their size (it’s possible!), and he let out a heartbroken wail like saying “why did she just hurt my leeeeg?!” Two seconds later he was fine. I had him curled up in my arms, and he was looking up at me whimpering, with his adorable signature pouty lower lip. “why did she do that, mommy?” You’d have thought his feelings were hurt, not his little leg.

How did you child react to his/her first shots? What do you think about vaccines? Lots? Nothing? I want to know! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Book Review Series: #1 “The Vaccine Book” by Dr. Sears

  1. I love that you are doing book reviews! -ha they are much easier to read than a whole book. And Caleb just got his first shots Tuesday. I hate that cry he gives me, just breaks my heart! 😦

    Another great book I’m (slowly) currently reading is Real Food for Mother and Baby by Nina Planck. Check it out when you get a chance!

yes?

