Serendipity at Barnes and Noble

After work today I headed straight to Barnes and Noble to pick up some books. I sipped my Starbucks beverage and leafed through the pages, making sure they were worthwhile purchases. This evening I got into bed, read my chronological Bible (loving it,  but that’s a whole other entry), and opened up one of my new books. I exhaled, leafed through the pages quickly with my thumb, and took a nice long whiff. I’m a book smeller, aspiring to identify publishers by scent alone (I know someone who can do this). As I’m leafing and smelling, I see white pages with black writing rush by my eyes when all of a sudden – blue color. I go back and leaf through the pages again, this time with the intent of finding what this random blue picture was amidst all the black and white.

To my surprise, I retrieved a laminated picture of a mountain with a poem written on it called “Climb till your dreams come true”. A girl (I’m assuming, the font was girly) I guess had randomly placed this poem in this specific book with the intention of paying it forward to a complete stranger. The poem was very sweet. Cliché perhaps, but nonetheless meaningful because it meant something to a complete stranger who wanted to make my day a little brighter. And that it did, because this small, serendipitous event made me smile and feel special somehow – like coincidence, fate, whatever you want to call it, chose me or something. She stated that she was not the author of the poem, but that it had made an impact in her life, and hoped it would have an impact on mine as well. This thoughtful stranger did not give me a name, but she did give me an email address.

This situation reminds me of a line in one of my favorite songs by Leona Naess that says “I tried to rock you but you only can roll”. This particular stranger got the ball rolling, and now it’s up to me whether to rock it or not. Between keeping something so potentially great as this at a rolling standstill and rocking it, I’m rocking it!

2 thoughts on “Serendipity at Barnes and Noble

yes?

